Mediterranean Circuit Regulations


The Mediterranean Circuit of the Panerai Classic Yachts Challenge (PCYC) consists of four events which take place in Italy, France and Spain. The 2017 racing calendar is as follows:

  1. Les Voiles d’Antibes 31 May – 4 June 2017
  2. Argentario Sailing Week 14 - 18 June 2017
  3. Mahon, XIV Copa del Rey de Barcos de Epoca 29 August - 2 September 2017
  4. Régates Royales, Cannes September 26 – 30 September 2017

The regattas comprising the Mediterranean Circuit of the Panerai Classic Yachts Challenge are organised by the Yacht Clubs and by the local Associations of Antibes, Porto Santo Stefano, Mahon and Cannes. Each stage counts towards the awarding of the Panerai Classic Yachts Challenge Trophy. Official communications and Notices of Race are available from the secretariat of the various Yacht Clubs. 


The Panerai Classic Yachts Challenge Trophy for the “Panerai Classic Yachts Challenge” Mediterranean Circuit will be awarded to the winning yachts in the Vintage, Classic and Big Boats categories at the end of the four scheduled regattas. The Trophy is awarded directly by Officine Panerai in accordance with both its own regulations and the Gentlemen’s Agreement philosophy. The events of the Panerai Classic Yachts Challenge Mediterranean Circuit will take place under the full organisational authority of the individual organising Yacht Clubs and subject to the provisions contained in the individual notices of race.

Each stage is organised according to:

  • The ISAF Racing Rules of Sailing (RRS) 2013-2016
  • C.I.M. Regulations 2014/2017
  • The Notices of Race and Racing Instructions of each organising Yacht Club
Registration and classes

Yachts built of wood or metal before 1950 (Vintage Yachts) and before 1976 (Classic Yachts) are eligible, as well as replicas of same as described by the Regulations for the Rating and Racing of Vintage and Classic Yachts (C.I.M. 2014/2017 and its modifications). The yachts in the Classic and Vintage categories may be sub-divided into further classes based on their Rig, Rating and Length Overall (LOA).

Also eligible are Spirit of Tradition Yachts conforming to the requirements of the C.I.M. Technical Committee, yachts of the International Rule and Universal Rule classes and one-designs. All the yachts entered must present a valid measurement certificate complying with C.I.M. regulations.

The yachts admitted to the Spirit of Tradition category must present a valid measurement certificate complying with IRC regulations. Each entry must be validated directly by the organising Yacht Club. All yachts that take part in at least one of the four events in the programme are automatically entered in the classification for the awarding of the Panerai Classic Yachts Challenge Trophy 


During every regatta, measurement checks of the boats entered may be carried out. Such checks will be carried out by the official measurers of the C.I.M. and of the National Associations. In the event of a dispute, the race committee's decision will be final. 

Scoring and classification

The Panerai Classic Yachts Challenge is awarded on the basis of an overall classification which takes into account the points gained in each individual event by each yacht in the Vintage, Classic and Big Boat categories. The calculation of the score is the Low Point System as per the ISAF Regulations. The final score of each yacht is therefore calculated by taking the sum of each individual placing of the yacht, within its category, in each race in which it took part (for instance, first place = 1 point, second place = 2 points). For the final classification, each yacht may exclude from the total score the worst result obtained in the course of the Circuit, after properly completing at least three events. In the event of a tie in the final classification, the yacht that has scored the best results in the individual events of the circuit as per ISAF criteria will prevail.

The Panerai Classic Yachts Challenge Trophy may be awarded only to yachts which have taken part in at least two events on the calendar. In the case of failure to compete in one or more events, at the end of the Circuit, a score equal to the overall number of boats taking part in the category in question, plus one, will be assigned to the yacht not taking part. If a yacht enters an event and appears in good order at the start line ready to take part in the race, but its class has not been organised by the Yacht Club, it will be awarded two points in the overall classification of the Trophy. If this should happen with two yachts, adjusted times will be taken into consideration, with two or three points respectively being awarded in the final classification.

The classification of each event is drawn up on the basis of adjusted times for the categories concerned and each Yacht Club is responsible for calculating the points and times, as well as for drawing up the final category and overall classifications to be used in awarding the Trophy. Points are awarded in ascending order of placing. For the calculation of the final classification of each individual event, races with equal courses are valid.

If for reasons of force majeure, the Yacht Club organisers are forced to modify the courses of an event for a single grouping of a class, this event will not be taken into account in the final classification of the class in question if at least three other valid regattas have been held. In special cases where it proves impossible to follow the criteria of the Panerai Classic Yachts Challenge Regulations, different calculations systems may be taken into consideration in conjunction with the Organising Yacht Club, on the basis of equivalence and the Gentlemen’s Agreement.


At the end of each stage of the Mediterranean Circuit of the Panerai Classic Yachts Challenge, Officine Panerai will award a prize to the top-three-placed yachts in the Vintage, Classic, Big Boats and Spirit of Tradition classes, and a special Officine Panerai prize to the top overall ranked yacht in each of the classes.