Règlement du circuit Méditerranéen


The Mediterranean Circuit of the Panerai Classic Yachts Challenge (PCYC) consists of four events taking place in Italy and France. The 2018 racing calendar is as follows:

  1. Les Voiles d’Antibes 30 May – 3 June 2018
  2. Argentario Sailing Week 13 – 17 June 2018
  3. Imperia Vintage Yacht Challenge 5 – 9 September 2018
  4. Régates Royales, Cannes September 24 – 29 September 2018

The regattas comprising the Mediterranean Circuit of the Panerai Classic Yachts Challenge are organised by the Yacht Clubs and the local Associations of Antibes, Porto Santo Stefano, Imperia and Cannes. Each stage counts towards the awarding of the Panerai Classic Yachts Challenge Trophy. Official communications and Notices of Race are available from the secretariats of the various Yacht Clubs.


The Panerai Classic Yachts Challenge Trophy for the Mediterranean Circuit of the “Panerai Classic Yachts Challenge” will be awarded to the winning yachts in the Vintage, Classic and Big Boats categories at the end of the four scheduled regattas. The Trophy is awarded directly by Officine Panerai in accordance with its own regulations, respecting the philosophy of the Gentlemen’s Agreement. 

The events of the Panerai Classic Yachts Challenge Mediterranean Circuit will take place under the full organisational authority of the Yacht Clubs and subject to the provisions contained in the individual Notices of Race. 

Each stage is organised according to:

  • The Notices of Race
  • The Racing Instructions of each organising Yacht Club
  • C.I.M. Regulations
Registration and classes

Yachts built of wood or metal before 1950 (Vintage Yachts) and before 1976 (Classic Yachts) are eligible, as well as identifiable replicas as described by the Regulations for the Rating and Racing of Vintage and Classic Yachts (C.I.M. 2018/2021 and its modifications). The yachts in the Classic and Vintage categories may be sub-divided into further classes based on their Rig, Rating and Length Overall (LOA).

Also eligible are Spirit of Tradition Yachts conforming to the requirements of the C.I.M. Technical Committee, as well as yachts of the International Rule and Universal Rule classes and one-designs.

All the yachts entered must present a valid measurement certificate complying with C.I.M. regulations. The yachts admitted to the Spirit of Tradition category must present a valid measurement certificate complying with IRC regulations. Each entry must be validated directly by the organising Yacht Club.

Every yacht which takes part in at least one of the four events in the programme will be automatically entered in the classification for the awarding of the Panerai Classic Yachts Challenge Trophy.


During every regatta, measurement checks of the boats entered may be carried out. Such checks will be carried out by the official measurers of the C.I.M. and of the National Associations. In the event of a dispute, the race committee's decision will be final.

Scoring and classification

The Panerai Classic Yachts Challenge is awarded on the basis of an overall classification which takes into account the points gained in each individual event by each yacht in the Vintage, Classic and Big Boat categories. The calculation of the score is the Low Point System as per the ISAF Regulations. Therefore the final score of each yacht is calculated by taking the sum of each individual placing of the yacht, within its category, in each race in which it took part (for instance, first place = 1 point, second place = 2 points). For the final classification, each yacht may exclude from the total score the worst result obtained in the course of the Circuit, after properly completing at least three events. In the event of a tie in the final classification, the yacht that has scored the best results in the individual events of the circuit according to ISAF criteria will prevail. 

The Panerai Classic Yachts Challenge Trophy may be awarded only to yachts which have taken part in at least two events on the calendar. In the case of failure to compete in one or more events, at the end of the Circuit, a score equal to the overall number of boats taking part in the category in question, plus one, will be assigned to the yacht not taking part. If a yacht enters an event and appears in good order at the start line ready to take part in the race, but its class has not been organised by the Yacht Club, it will be assigned two points in the overall classification of the Trophy. If this should happen with two yachts, adjusted times will be taken into consideration, with two or three points respectively being assigned in the final classification. 

The classification of each event is drawn up on the basis of adjusted times for the categories concerned and each Yacht Club is responsible for calculating the points and times, as well as for drawing up the final category and overall classifications to be used in awarding the Trophy. 

Points are awarded in ascending order of placing. For the calculation of the final classification of each individual event, races with equal courses will be valid. 

If for reasons of force majeure the organising Yacht Club has to modify the courses of an event for a single grouping of a class, this event will not be taken into account in the final classification of the class in question if at least three other valid regattas have been held. In special cases where it proves impossible to follow the criteria of the Panerai Classic Yachts Challenge Regulations, different calculation systems may be taken into consideration in conjunction with the Organising Yacht Club, on the basis of equivalence and the Gentlemen’s Agreement.


At the end of each stage of the Mediterranean Circuit of the Panerai Classic Yachts Challenge, Officine Panerai will award a prize to the yachts in the first three places in the Vintage, Classic, Big Boats and Spirit of Tradition classes, and a special Officine Panerai prize to the yacht classified first overall in each of the classes.